Still & Quiet before the Lord

Be still

I have had total writers block.  I write because I like to and because I feel God wants me to. And anytime God calls me to something I try to give it all I have got even if I don’t know the reason for the call. Lately, every time I sit down to write, I freeze up.  I can’t seem to find the words.

Today, it happened again.  And then I realized something.  This is no accident.  I have been praying that God would reveal what He wants me to write about.  And yet I sit here day after day staring at a blank page.

I believe it is because God is doing a work on my heart.  He is drawing me closer to Him.  He is making me over on the inside.  And for whatever reason, He wants me to stop thinking so much.  My best guess is that it’s because I think too much.   I mean honestly, I can’t turn my brain off.  And anytime that I sit down to “be still” before the Lord, I end up thinking of a million things.  Like how I need to be more patient, sleep more, what chores need to be done that day, and the list goes on.  But because I am not good at turning that off, I have not mastered the art of being still and listening to the Lord.  It is something that I have prayed for.  Something that I will have to work for.

Over the course of not writing I have been forced to be still every time I sit in attempt to write.  And God is showing me the joy and healing in being in His presence.  The peace that comes from silence.

I want to be closer to the Lord.  And I believe that this season of stretching me and teaching me the art of being still and quiet is part of what He will use to do just that.

~Kristen

2 thoughts on “Still & Quiet before the Lord

Leave a Reply

