New Year

So it’s a New Year.  Welcome 2015! I always get excited for a New Year as I look forward to all it has in store.

My last blog post was about New Years resolutions.  And the importance of making them.  I have a list.  A good one.

But there is only one thing on my list that is worth mentioning.  That is to walk with The Lord and draw near to Him.  If I focus on that, the rest will fall I to place.  My life will head in the direction that God has intended it to.  I will be more patient.  I will love others well.  I will be better with my time.  I will be a good mom, a good wife and a good friend. I will develop the fruit of the spirit: Galatians 5:22-23a “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control.”

As far as the goals that include eat healthier, continue to work out, learn to relax, etc. Those are good too.  But they are not going to be the focus of this New Year for me.

I think writing down all the little ones help to motivate me.  But if I focus too much on them, they take away from the one thing I really want in this life.

And if at the end of 2015, I look back and see that my faith has grown, that my walk with God is stronger, and that I am striving to be all that God has made me, I have had a successful year.

The rest of my goals are a bonus.  But I will not allow them to be distractions.  For they are not what define me nor are they what measure my success or who I am.  That all comes from The Lord.  And Him alone.

Happy New Year friends!

~Kristen

2 thoughts on “New Year

  1. I love this New Year goal of walking closer with Jesus. I find myself that when I am staying close to Jesus, all others fall into place. Thank the Lord…because I want His goals for my life and not my own. God bless you sister. And you know I will be praying for you.

Leave a Reply

