on a quest to find peace

photo 5

Peace.  That is a word I long to know in a deeper, more intimate way.  This world and the demands of life are at times, crazy.  It is fast paced, ever changing.  Always something new in our face.  Reminding us what we should be doing, what we are not doing well, and all the things that we just don’t have.

It is so easy to get caught up in that.  To make those things the focus of our lives.  But at the end of the day all that gets us is a discontent, anxious heart.  It robs us of peace.

Peace comes from the Lord.  It comes from spending time in His presence.  It comes from focusing on what really matters in this world.

Psalm 34:14 says, “Turn from evil and do good; Seek peace and pursue it.”

When I first read that verse I thought I would just focus on the part where it specifically talks about peace.  But as I read it again I realized, if peace comes from the Lord, then having peace means walking with Him.  Which in turn means that we turn from evil.  When we choose to walk in sin it will take our focus off the Lord.  When we get caught up in the things of this world, we become consumed with things that do not really matter.

What does it mean to seek peace?  To pursue it?  I am not totally sure.  But I think a good place to start would be in pursing God with all my heart.  Letting go of the things that hold me down.

In John 14:27 Jesus says “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.”

God wants to give us peace. He wants to pour that out in our lives. Will we receive it? Will we seek and pursue it?

There is so much in this world that stands to rob us of the peace that the Lord so freely gives. I don’t want to let that happen anymore. I want peace to consume me.

2 Thessalonians says, “Now may the Lord of peace himself give you peace at all times and in every way. The Lord be with all of you.”

It says at ALL TIMES and in EVERY WAY. I want that. I want to seek that. I want to accept that gift that God wants to give. I want to live a life of peace in this ever changing, often chaotic world. I want my life to reflect peace at all times and in every way.

~Kristen

2 thoughts on “on a quest to find peace

  1. I tried to comment last night from my “sick bed.” Couldn’t log on! I wanted to say that once again you’ve read my mind. I need PEACE, I’m shouldering too many “shoulds,” being sick and literally unable. I want to take care of my family and prepare for a major Christmas visit from my in-laws! And I have no energy. I need to dance in the Christmas show this week–and I’m laid up, can’t even do dishes. PEACE, please…and only God gives it. Reading this helped me to recenter. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

