My worth is not based on them

The estimation of my worth is not based on anyone or what they think of me.

I’ve always said I don’t care what people think about me.  The truth is, I don’t want to care… But I do. I want to be liked. Appreciated. Seen and understood.

I can not find self worth in all of that. If I do, it will consume me. It could become what I live for. I could start to act a certain way in order to receive the approval of others.

The truth is, there are going to be people that don’t like me. Yah, I know, crazy. All joking aside though, there will be. And there will be many that disagree with me. Perhaps not a whole lot that will get me or understand who I am.

The idea of that makes me a little sad. But it’s something that I have to accept and embrace.  I want to get to a place where I am not affected by what others think. I want my identity to be who I am in Christ. Period. If I take my focus off of that I will easily get distracted from God’s will for my life by simply caring too much of what people think of me.

Don’t get me wrong, there is a time and a place to care what others have to say. There is a lot to be learned from one another. There is wisdom to be gained. But I hope you all understand that what I am trying to convey here is caring to the point of feeling inadequate without people’s approval. And sometimes perhaps even feeling the need to change in order to be liked.

This topic is huge. I feel it’s one that I will revisit at lease once more.  It’s one that has brought me to a place of self growth. It has caused me to learn what it means to look up more then to look out. I want to seek the approval of God more then people. I want to know who I am in Christ.

Have you ever struggled with caring too much about what others think of you? Has it ever changed how you have acted or the things you have said in order to seek approval?

God has made each of us so uniquely and wonderfully. There is so much freedom in who we are in Christ. Join me on my journey as I start to figure out what that looks like in my life.

~Kristen

Leave a Reply

