Be still

I have never been one to be still. Ever. I swear I have springs in my rear. It’s a thing. It’s gotta be. That is the only explanation for why I’m always on the move.

I have a lot of energy. I like to move. Plus, I have a lot to do. I am one busy little mama. I usually always have a list a mile long. It’s hard to stop me.

Psalm 46:10 says “Be still, and know that I am God.”

Psalm 62:5 “Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him.”

Matthew 11:28 ” Come to me, all who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”

These verses show me that the springs in my rear are self made. God did not design me to go go go. There is a time for it. The energy I have is from Him. But his intention is that I balance it with rest. When I am still, I can hear Him. He gives me hope, peace and rest. When I take time to be still I am able to use my time more wisely. Because I am refreshed.

So many times when life gets crazy I move faster. When what I should be doing is slowing down. I should go to The Lord. Take time to be in His presence. To rest. When I rest in The Lord I find I have much more energy and direction when it comes to dealing with the crazy.

I’m sure you’ve noticed that I have had a lot of blog posts about rest, being busy and anything else along those lines. That is an area in my life that I need to grow. I need to let go of some of my to do list in order to find rest in The Lord. Time to restore. I’m no good to those around me if I’m frazzled all the time.

This world that we live in is so fast paced. The demands of life are so vast. All the more reason to slow down, take time to rest, let go and let God have control of our lives. He will guide us. Give us everything we need. But we must go to Him. Make time for Him. Bask in his very presence. Now I need to put all that into practice. Make some new habits. Ask God to help me sit still once in awhile.

Do you take time to be still? Time to rest? Is it hard for you to make time for it?

~Kristen

2 thoughts on “Be still

  1. Just sat down after a hard bike ride up hill, my mind was heavy with thoughts that have been plaguing me for awhile. Seems like 9 years, really. Anyway, I have been asking God “what do I need to do? I’ll do it, just lead me.” This post is such a great reminder that first I need to stop stressing and “be still!”

Leave a Reply

