Let them see You in me

There is a song called “Let them see you in me” by Colton Dixon. If you have not heard it, listen to it. Take in all the words. It’s beautiful. It can be applied to so many areas of life. I have applied it to parenting. It’s my theme song as a mom 🙂 Every time I hear the song I am reminded of just how much I desire for my children to see Jesus in me.

My last blog post was a day when parenting was hard. When I felt defeated. But on those days I am always challenged to look inside my own heart. To ask myself if during those hard days my children see Him in me.  I wrote that post because days like that are real. Parenting is not easy.

Lately, I have felt in a bit of a rut. A place where frustration has been my reaction to a hard day. Acting in frustration is acting in such a way that does not show my children the love of Christ. They mess up. They act out. They are children. They are learning. And being molded. The best way I can help mold my children into who The Lord wants them to be is going to be loving them with all my heart. No matter what the day brings. It’s going to mean setting aside myself for the sake of my children. And it is through that I am truly able to teach them how to respond when the day is not going well. How we are to act when we are frustrated. My kids look to me for so many things. For how to respond in most situations. That is so incredibly humbling. It’s a hard job. But it’s also an honor. And it’s a calling that I want to take very seriously.

I pray that as I seek The Lord in my parenting journey that I would be changed. That I would always be teachable. And that God would live in and thorough me. I will never have it down perfectly. But I will never stop trying.  I want what comes out of my mouth and I want my actions to be such that my children see Jesus in me.

~Kristen

Leave a Reply

