Feeling Defeated

Being a mom is wonderful! But today that’s not what this post is about. Being a mom is downright HARD. It’s the hardest yet most wonderful “job” I’ve ever had. There are days, like today, when I just feel defeated. I was not born with the gift of patience. So it is something I pray about every day. All throughout the day.  And that is the only thing that ever leads to any sort of success with patience. Today, however, has gotten the better of me. Children go through phases. Each year brings something different. Right now as I teach them each day, I am focussing on the fruits of the spirit. Something that I am also trying to develop. I started out strong. You know, exhibiting patience. Reading the bible. Nothing worked. It was just one of those days.  One that brought me to tears.

I know that I can not change my child’s behavior. I know that real change only comes from God. And that change takes place in the heart…which is something I’d like to write more about. It’s times like this that my job is to be on my knees praying for my child to have a real heart change.

So what do I do when I’m feeling defeated? I cry. I pray. I write. I read my bible. I ask The Lord to give me strength for the journey of motherhood that He has called my to. It is my honor and privilege. And it is also very challenging. I have to take the good days with the bad. And know that through Christ each and ever day makes me stronger, more equipped for this journey. My biggest desire is that my children know and love The Lord. I want them to see Christ in me. And boy is that a loaded statement.. Which is another topic I want to write more about.

For now I end this post. Tired, honestly. But also encouraged that tomorrow is a new day. That my efforts are not a waste. And that God walks with me each and every day. And knowing that nothing will ever change how deeply I love the sweet precious girls that God has given me.

Friends, on those days when you feel defeated, remember that God is bigger. He walks with You. He’s growing you. And even when it doesn’t feel like it, He doesn’t give you more then you can handle.

~Kristen

Leave a Reply

