She wants brown eyes

 

I had the most precious conversation with my daughter Aleah before she turned 3.  For weeks.  Every night.

 

Aleah said, “Mommy, what color eyes do you have?”

 

Me, “Brown”.

 

Aleah, “Mommy, what color eyes do I have?”

 

Me, “Blue”.

 

Aleah sadly says, “Mommy, I want bwown eyes like you.”

 

Me, “Honey, your blue eyes are beautiful.  I wouldn’t change a thing”.

 

Aleah put her little hands on my face and said, “But Mommy, I want bwown like you.”

 

Precious.

 

Precious.

 

It melts my heart to know how much she loves me.  How much she looks up to me and wants to be just like me. It is an honor.

 

It makes me realize that I need to be worth looking up to.  Not on the outside but on the inside.  I need to be the person God made me.  I want her to see God when she looks in my brown eyes.  I want her to know and feel how loved she is.  How precious.  I want her to see what life is all about.  What is important.  I want to set an example for her.

 

This precious conversation with my daughter makes me want to be a better person.  It makes me want to change to be more like Jesus.  It makes me realize that who I am is some of what they want to be.

 

I want a heart like Jesus.  So that when my beautiful daughters look at me they see how to live.  Good thing I have the Lord.  Because I could not do it on my own.

 

I love the precious gift of my children.

 

~Kristen

One thought on “She wants brown eyes

  1. I know why she wants to be like her amazing, wonderful, loving Mommy. Her eyes may not be the same color but she is a mini you! Love you.

Leave a Reply

