Blessings

Take a few minutes, with me, to read these lyrics.  Read them slowly. Take all the words in – you will be blessed by them.  Powerful stuff!!!!!

“Blessings”

by Laura Story

Here are the lyrics:

We pray for blessings, we pray for peace

Comfort for family, protection while we sleep

 ~~

And all the while, You hear each spoken need

Yet love us way too much to give us lesser things

 ~~

‘Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops

What if your healing comes through tears

What if a thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know Your near

What if trials of this life are Your mercies in disguise?

 ~~

We pray for wisdom, Your voice to hear

And we cry out in anger when we cannot feel You near

And we doubt Your goodness, We doubt Your love

As if each promise from Your Word is not enough

~~

And all the while, Your hear each desperate plea

And long that we’d have faith to believe

 ~~

‘Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops

What if Your healing comes through tears

What if a thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know You’re near

What if trials of this life are Your mercies in disguise

 ~~

When friends betray us

When darkness seems to win, we know

The pain reminds this heart

That this is not, this is not our home

 ~~

‘Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops

What if your healing comes through tears

What if a thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know Your near

 ~~

What if my greatest disappointments

Or the aching of this life,

Is the revealing of a greater thirst this world can’t satisfy

 ~~

What if trials of this life,

The rain, the storms, the hardest nights

Are Your mercies in disguise?

 ~~

WOW!!!  I have heard that song so many times – and each time, with tears in my eyes, I thank the Lord for his blessings – for His mercies in disguise….

This time this song has brought me to my knees… crying and thanking the Lord that He loves me enough to know better than me – to pour out His blessings and his mercies on me.

Writing about this song was inspired by three things which I will share with you all…

Losing our daughter was a blessing in disguise.  I have seen it….  “What if trials of this life, The rain, the storms, the hardest nights, are Your mercies in disguise?”  It sucked to go through – it still aches… Did you know she is going to be three soon?  but it has grown me – and God gets the glory as our story is used for Him.

Someone I love very much is very sick – and I have seen her “have faith to believe”. Believe that God is in control.  Peace in the midst of her suffering. This is not her home – and she lives that out.

Some friends have told me of a man they know that is going through a really hard time… but it is bringing him to his knees… making him realize that he needs Jesus. This, my friends, is a blessing in disguise… this my friends may just be what brings him and his family to the Lord.  These trials would be worth every tear he cries if it helps him see Jesus – to know Him.

I will probably touch more on each of those things in greater detail… but for today – that’s all I’ve got.

What, in your life, are you going through that is causing “raindrops, aching in this life”? Join me on  my knees and give it to God.  Give it all to Him and let Him hold you.  He loves you and I so much and He will never let go. He wants to use each and every one of us….

This is not – this is not our home”.

.bring on the rain

~Kristen

2 thoughts on “Blessings

Leave a Reply

