Refining Faith

1 Peter 1:6-7

In this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials.  These have come so that your faith – of greater worth then gold, which perishes even though refined by fire – may be proved genuine and result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed.

 

Refining Faith was one of the topics that our pastor preached on at church on Sunday.  Refining faith. Trials refine us…. it says in 1 Peter that our faith may be proved genuine.  No genuine faith will exist without trials and hard times. In the end it is all for His glory.  Trials are never fun to go through but they are so worth it.  When we do go through them we have a choice how we handle them.  We can choose to be angry and walk away – or we can choose to put our hand in the Lord’s.  Let Him grow us, refine us and strengthen our faith.

 

Can I tell you, when we lost our daughter it was awful… but let me tell you that what God did with our faith was incredible.  It is a true blessing that came from our loss.  We did not have the choice to keep our daughter – but we did get to choose what we did with it.  And in God’s grace, He allowed our faith to grow.  He allowed us to be used by Him for His glory. Amen to that.  We chose to grab hold of Him.  He was there the whole time.  Holding us.

 

Faith, my friends, is more precious then gold.  That goes against everything that the world tells us. But, I have seen it.  At the end of the day if all I have left is my faith – I am blessed.  I want to always set my sights on that.  It is hard at times to live in this world but not of it – to not make decisions that make us more comfortable.  But if I strive daily for a deeper more steadfast faith I gain so much more.  How different would my decisions be with this in mind?

 

Do I want to go through trials… well… not really – but yes.  Because it is in those trials that I am refined.  I just have to choose to keep looking up.

 

Please don’t get me wrong – in trials I don’t smile brightly and thank the Lord for the pain.  No, I tend to fall flat on my face feeling as if I could die from the pain. But, what I did when we lost our daughter was determine not to let anger take me over.  I had to make a conscious effort to let the Lord hold me.  To trust Him even though I could hardly bear what was happening.  Did you hear me?  I had to trust Him… I had just lost my daughter and I had to trust it was His will.  That was one of the hardest things I have had to do… trust trust trust. That His plan makes sense even though it didn’t to me.  But I know my God and I know that His will is done – and His will is good and perfect. And that He will use it for His glory. And I chose to trust Him.  And He refined my faith.  I have to give this to Him still – because it will always hurt.  But, the pain reminds me of how much I need Him.  It reminds me that living for Him is why I am here.

 

~Kristen

Leave a Reply

