Broken People

Why are we so afraid of those who are broken?  It is easy to look at someone who I know is broken and think of ways that I could help make a difference.  Sure sometimes I do. But other times I turn the other way! Why? I am afraid! There is a girl that walks around my neighborhood.  She walks with her shoulders rolled forward, she looks at the ground and clearly lacks confidence. She listens to music and she moves at a steady but slow pace.  I see her behind my house at least 1 times every day just walking.  Her body language tells me that she has a painful story.  That she is indeed broken.  I want to talk to her.  Be her friend.  What I am afraid of is that she will become needy or that she has some serious problem and be dangerous.  I always think of protecting my children which to a degree I should.  Sometimes all of those thoughts make me scared and deter me from wanting to help.  But helping is what everything inside me screams out to do.  It is what Jesus would do. And yet, we live in a society that so selfish and so focused on me. I get that.  I am selfish and it is easier to focus on me.  I was laying in bed tonight talking to Aaron and we prayed for that girl! And I got angry…. angry thinking about what her story could be. Angry that I was thinking of reasons why I should not talk to her. And it led me to write.  I need to snap out of it.  Why am I here? To share Christ.  God says in the bible, “When you do unto the least of these you do for me.”  She is the least of these.  She needs Christ.  And I may be the only one who will share Him with her. After all, He is the only one that can heal her brokenness!  Will I let fear stop me?

We are all broken.  We all need a savior.  We all need someone to come along side us at some point and let us know that we matter.  That we are worth something.  We need someone to show us Christ.  We need someone to accept us… all of us even in our brokenness.

Jesus died for our brokenness – He never turns the other way.  He welcomes us with open arms despite our brokenness.  I sure am glad that Jesus did not turn the other way when He saw me.  Or make excuses why I just may be too much too handle… too big of a problem.  I am so thankful that He thought I was worth it… I was worth the giving of Himself. I was worth the sacrifice.  Me!  Worth the greatest sacrifice! And through Him, I am healed!

~Kristen

Leave a Reply

